“Die Jim Crow” is an album written and performed by formerly and currently incarcerated black songwriters and singers from across the country.  The album title is inspired by Michelle Alexander’s book “The New Jim Crow”, which equates the US prison system to a modern day racial caste system similar to the old form of Jim Crow segregation in America.

On May 1, 2016 as a precursor to the full length LP, Fury will release the full length The Die Jim Crow EP. The EP features six songs, five of which were recorded in a maximum security state prison in Ohio.

We interviewed producer Fury Young at Pine Box Rock Shop in Brooklyn this past summer, where he exhibited and sold artworks by incarcerated artists, proceeds of which went towards funding The Die Jim Crow project. Check out our interview and the Kickstarter below and please support this amazing project.


Die Jim Crow from Honeysuckle Magazine on Vimeo.